Monet’s Garden Inspiration – Julep Personal Color

I have been asked to create a post for Julep that showcases my personal color. The email entered my inbox as I was touring Monet’s Gardens in Giverny, France. His gardens are a magical place filled with every flower imaginable radiating inspiration. When I look back on that precious experience, I believe my personal color was hidden among the flowers, soil, water, trees, and every other particle of nature.

Before going to Giverny, I went to the Musee D’Orsay in Paris, which is home to many Monet paintings. Here is some of his most prominent work I saw:

Having the opportunity to experience the Parisian culture, the French country side, and especially Monet’s home helped me realize what my personal color consists of:

Soft but vibrant –  I adore Monet’s pastel paintings such as the water Lillies, but I also adore bright roses and lilacs.

Meaning – I am sure many of you know that red is for love, green is for positivity, orange is for optimism, and so on. My color would accomplishment, acceptance, and adventure. Or as I like to think of it, the triple a’s!

Shimmer – Sparkles, glitter, shimmer, holographic… you name it and I love it! Shimmer reflects light in a billion different ways. The outcome or final look is never really the same. This idea also fits with people. Not one person is the same as another person.


Now is the moment you have all been waiting for… what is my personal color?

A medium purple with hints of very, very light green shimmer. Almost to the point where you cannot tell it is green. Think of the Julep color Elisa, but a bit darker splashed with light sea green shimmer. My color would be called GivAndy (Giverny + Andy).

What would your personal color be? Interested in Julep? Check out their new nail color page here!

Leave a Reply

