Texan Interning for Christine Quinn

I was the odd one out. I was the intern who was unfamiliar with NYC, I was the intern from a different state, I was the intern who had to use google maps for navigation. But it was all worth it. I learned so much and stepped out of my comfort zone. I explored NYC in ways many tourists or none-city-“goers” do. I loved every minute of it.

This is what a day looked like as a campaign intern for Christine Quinn (she ran for NYC mayor):

  • commute into NYC via Metro North
  • Take the blue subway line down to The World Trade Center
  • Walk over to Vessey Street while getting my daily Starbucks Latte
  • Go to the office and wait to be assigned my daily task (always praying for phone banking)
  • With my luck, I am normally assigned canvassing which has its up and downs. The best part about canvassing is that I get to explore the hidden, residential areas or NYC and get to talk to a lot of different characters. But the downfall is all of the walking… walking almost 10 miles a day kicks you in the butt! (at least I was burning a lot of calories from the NYC pizza and bagels I would eat for lunch)
  • After the daily tasks, the interns normally went to a rally or debate (this was the fun part!) I got to see all of my other friends who where interns and got to yell.
  • With the day ending comes the commute back to grandmas (at least grand central is a zoo and fun to experience every day!)

IMG_3037

 

Interning in NYC was a blast. I learned so much about myself and so much about others. I look forward to all of the opportunities that are in the city… Hopefully one day I will be able to live there and have a job in PR!

Leave a Reply

